SandHill.com on Enterprise 2.0

[Cross Posted from JackBe blog]

Yesterday, I came across this article by M. R. Rangaswami of Sand Hill Group that discusses Web 2.0 in the Enterprise. M R goes on to say:

Enterprise 2.0 is the synergy of a new set of technologies, development models and delivery methods that are used to develop business software and deliver it to users.

Being a technologist, I get this.

In my previous post, I discussed a little about what Social Web/Web 2.0 means to the Enterprise. A couple of weeks ago, I wrote an article for eBizQ that was simply titled SOA and Ajax. In my article, I discussed the potential emergence of Enterprise 2.0, which can be defined as enterprise computing leveraging Web 2.0 principles and concepts. I predicted that consumer-oriented Web 2.0 concepts like tagging, folksonomy (informal community-based taxonomy), wikis, blogs, and RSS feeds will also gain adoption in the enterprise context. Web 2.0 concepts and techniques enable capturing the semantics of different data and resources within the enterprise. Together with SaaS, Ajax, and SOA, and the other aspects MR points out in his article, I see the emergence of Enterprise 2.0.

Whether you love or hate the term “Enterprise 2.0”, one thing is for sure. The landscape for enterprise software is changing rapidly. What do you think?

Click Here to Comment

Published by

deepakalur

Cofounder & CTO @ Chartcube.com